fr En
  • Popular perceptions of the exercise of power in Madagascar

  • Popular perceptions of the exercise of power in Madagascar

  • Popular perceptions of the exercise of power in Madagascar

  • Popular perceptions of the exercise of power in Madagascar

  • Popular perceptions of the exercise of power in Madagascar

Production of visual contents merging creativity and expertise

The actors

> Client: INCIPALS / ECES / EU Delegation Madagascar
> Production & direction: Collateral Creations
> Research team : François Roubaud & Mireille Razafindrakoto (IRD/DIAL), Jean Michel Wachsberger (Lille/DIAL), INSTAT Madagascar (survey)
> Film (script & making): Alban Biaussat & Michel Tabet
> Graphic design: Studio Louis
> Photo: Rijasolo
> Music: « Landrema » by Mahaleo & « Méditation » by Sareraka

>

Expectations

An in-depth study to understand popular expectations of the Malagasy population, both urban and rural, from institutions of authority, as well as the more sensitive documentation of perceptions and their underlaying logic, whose results could be shared and contribute to tailored civic education activities.

Video evaluation of the EU’s Instrument contributing to Stability and Peace in Sudan 2nd video evaluation of the Civil Society Support Programme (PASC) in Tunisia

The context

This project takes place as a transversal component of the INCIPALS programme that provides assistance to civil society in Madagascar in the post-electoral period. An original approach combining a large-scale quantitative survey, state of the art analysis, and documentary photography and filmmaking.

The EU-funded INCIPALS programme commissioned Collateral Creations to orchestrate and carry out field surveys and analyses, and to produce original audiovisual documentary works in order to better comprehend and depict in sensitive and attractive formats the diversity of popular expectations with regard to governance in Madagascar.

The results of this project (study and film/photos) will be officially presented on the 15th of July 2016 in Antananarivo, in collaboration with INCIPALS/ECES/EU and IRD/DIAL, within the framework of the Southern Winter University in Social Sciences in Madagascar (gouvernance, institutions & role of the elites).

A transversal component of the INCIPALS programme (Citizen Initiative for Consolidating Peace, Leadership and Stability) implemented by ECES in Madagascar has been designed to research perceptions and expectations of various Malagasy populations with regard to the exercise of power. The objective for the EU is to adapt its civic education activities and engage in related policy dialogue.

Study component

Collateral Creations brought together a team of three senior academics working with the French DIAL research unit (IRD & University Paris Dauphine), renowned for their expertise in implementing sophisticated quantitative peace, governance and security surveys in Madagascar.

A national survey was designed and conducted in December 2015 in partnership with INSTAT in Madagascar, which targeted over 3000 households (over 7300 adults). A substantial report was drafted to summarize a state of the research knowledge about this topic and to provide an analysis of the results of the survey conducted especially.

The executive summary of this study is available in French here:

PDF - 4.4 Mb

Creative audiovisual documentary component

Collateral Creations also designed and orchestrated the production of original photo and video works as per a visual anthropology methodology with both documentary and creative objectives:

  • A 26 minutes long creative documentary film, based on about 30 interviews with individuals of diverse backgrounds, to question Malagasy’s understanding and opinions of state power as well as the population’s capacity to contest. The sociological information it provides shall be useful to foster a debate about this issue and to contribute to the identification of future civic education activities.

Film "Zana-bahoaka ! Le néo-rebelle malagasy", 26min in French:

"Zana-bahoaka ! - Le néo rebelle malagasy" from Collateral Creations on Vimeo.

  • A short "bonus" video to relay the research team’s comments about the main film and about the contribution of such qualitative multimedia research initiative to more traditional analytical work.

Video of comments by the research team in French:

Bonus: résumé de l’étude menée à Madagascar & commentaires du film “Zana_bahoaka!” from Collateral Creations on Vimeo.

  • A body of photography work composed of a series of over 130 images documenting traditional representations of authority in rural areas and portraying young urban activists of Antananarivo.

Film "Zana-bahoaka ! Le néo-rebelle malagasy", 26min in French:

"Zana-bahoaka ! - Le néo rebelle malagasy" from Collateral Creations on Vimeo.

Video of comments by the research team in French:

Bonus: résumé de l’étude menée à Madagascar & commentaires du film “Zana_bahoaka!” from Collateral Creations on Vimeo.

Below a selection of photographs taken from Rijasolo’s series and some portrays by Alban Biaussat of a number of people who appear in the film:

Radio France International (RFI) reported on the film online and broadcasted an interview with the filmmaker on the radio :

The results of this project (study and film/photos) have been officially presented on the 15th of July 2016 in Antananarivo, in collaboration with INCIPALS/ECES/EU and IRD/DIAL, within the framework of the Southern Winter University in Social Sciences in Madagascar (gouvernance, institutions & role of the elites).
More information available at: http://www.dial.ird.fr/universite-d-hiver-austral-en-sciences-sociales-a-madagascar

Screening & debate on 7th of March 2017 in Paris, in collaboration with the Population & Development Centre (Ceped) and IRD at Paris Descartes University : http://www.collateralcreations.com/Projection-du-film-sur-Madagascar?lang=en

Additional information is available on the website of the UNCIALS programme: http://www.incipals.eu

fr En
  • Perceptions populaires de l’exercice du pouvoir à Madagascar

  • Perceptions populaires de l’exercice du pouvoir à Madagascar

  • Perceptions populaires de l’exercice du pouvoir à Madagascar

  • Perceptions populaires de l’exercice du pouvoir à Madagascar

  • Perceptions populaires de l’exercice du pouvoir à Madagascar

Production de contenus visuels, artistiques et analytiques

Les acteurs

> Client : INCIPALS / ECES / EU Delegation Madagascar
> Production & direction : Collateral Creations
> Equipe de recherche : François Roubaud & Mireille Razafindrakoto (IRD/DIAL), Jean Michel Wachsberger (Lille/DIAL), INSTAT Madagascar (enquête)
> Film (écriture & réalisation) : Alban Biaussat & Michel Tabet
> Graphisme : Studio Louis
> Photo : Rijasolo
> Musique : « Landrema » de Mahaleo & « Méditation » de Sareraka

>

Les attentes

Une étude approfondie pour comprendre les attentes de la population malgache, urbaine et rurale, envers l’exercice de l’autorité, ainsi qu’une documentation plus sensible des perceptions et des logiques qui les sous-tendent, dont les résultats seraient susceptibles d’être partagés afin de contribuer à des actions d’éducation citoyenne adaptées.

Vidéo évaluation de l’Instrument de l’UE contribuant à la Stabilité et à la Paix au Soudan 2nde vidéo évaluation du Programme d’Appui à la Société Civile en Tunisie

Le contexte

Ce projet s’insère de manière transversale au sein du programme INCIPALS de soutien à la société civile en période post-électorale à Madagascar. Une approche originale mêlant enquête quantitative au niveau national et étude de pointe, photographie et film documentaire.

A la demande du programme INCIPALS financé par l’UE à Madagascar, Collateral Creations a orchestré et réalisé une série d’actions d’enquêtes de terrain et d’analyses mais aussi de productions audiovisuelles originales pour mieux appréhender et reproduire de manière sensible et attrayante la diversité des attentes de la population malgache en matière de gouvernance.

La restitution de ce travail (étude et films/photos) est prévu le 15 juillet 2016 à Antananarivo, en collaboration avec INCIPALS/ECES/EU et IRD/DIAL, dans le cadre de l’Université d’Hiver Austral en Sciences Sociales à Madagascar (gouvernance, institutions & rôle des élites).

Une composante transversale du programme INCIPALS (Initiative Citoyenne pour la Consolidation de la Paix, Leadership et Stabilité) mis en oeuvre par ECES à Madagascar vise à étudier les perceptions et les attentes de diverses populations cibles envers le pouvoir, afin de guider le positionnement de l’UE en matière d’assistance au renforcement de la citoyenneté et de dialogue avec les autorités.

Composante étude

Collateral Creations a formé une équipe de haut niveau composée, pour la partie "étude", de trois chercheurs de l’unité de recherche DIAL (IRD & Université Paris Dauphine) parmi les plus reconnus pour leur expertise en matière d’enquêtes quantitative sur la paix, la gouvernance et la sécurité à Madagascar. Une enquête a été conduite en décembre 2015 au niveau national auprès de plus de 3000 ménages (plus de 7300 individus majeurs), en partenariat avec l’INSTAT à Madagascar. Un rapport exhaustif a été rédigé qui fournit un état des lieux des connaissances sur le sujet et élabore sur les résultats de l’enquête.

Vous pouvez consulter le résumé exécutif du rapport ici :

PDF - 4.4 Mo

Composante documentaire audiovisuel et créatif

Collateral Creations a également imaginé et orchestré la production et la réalisation de travaux photo et vidéo originaux selon une méthodologie d’anthropologie visuelle, à la fois documentaire et artistique :

  • Un film documentaire et créatif de 26 minutes, fondé sur une trentaine d’interviews pour aborder la question de la relation des Malgaches au pouvoir étatique et la capacité de contestation de la population. L’information de nature sociologique qu’il fournit doit servir à alimenter le débat sur ces sujets et contribuer à préciser des actions d’éducation citoyenne.

Film "Zana-bahoaka ! Le néo-rebelle malagasy", 26min en français :

"Zana-bahoaka ! - Le néo rebelle malagasy" from Collateral Creations on Vimeo.

  • Une courte vidéo, de type "bonus", pour filmer les commentaires de l’équipe de chercheurs au film principal et sur l’intérêt qu’ils trouvent à associer ce type de documentation multimédia, plus qualitative, à leur travail d’enquête et d’analyse traditionnel.

Film de commentaires des chercheurs en français :

Bonus : résumé de l’étude menée à Madagascar & commentaires du film “Zana_bahoaka !” from Collateral Creations on Vimeo.

  • Un travail photographique d’auteur, composé d’une série de plus de 130 images qui témoignent des représentations de l’autorité en zone rurale et dressent le portrait de jeunes militants urbains d’Antananarivo.

Film "Zana-bahoaka ! Le néo-rebelle malagasy", 26min en français :

"Zana-bahoaka ! - Le néo rebelle malagasy" from Collateral Creations on Vimeo.

Film de commentaires des chercheurs en français :

Bonus : résumé de l’étude menée à Madagascar & commentaires du film “Zana_bahoaka !” from Collateral Creations on Vimeo.

Ci-dessous, une sélection de photos tirées de la série produite par Rijasolo et certains portraits des personnes filmées par Alban Biaussat :

Radio France International (RFI) a interviewé le réalisateur du film et diffusé un article sur le web ainsi qu’un clip audio à la radio :

La restitution officiel de ce travail (étude et films/photos) a été faite le 15 juillet 2016 à Antananarivo, en collaboration avec INCIPALS/ECES/EU et IRD/DIAL, dans le cadre de l’Université d’Hiver Austral en Sciences Sociales à Madagascar (gouvernance, institutions & rôle des élites).
Pour plus d’informations : http://www.dial.ird.fr/universite-d-hiver-austral-en-sciences-sociales-a-madagascar

Projection-débat le 7 mars 2017 à Paris en collaboration avec le Centre Population & Développement (Ceped) et l’IRD à l’Université Paris Descartes : http://www.collateralcreations.com/Projection-du-film-sur-Madagascar?lang=fr

Des informations supplémentaires sont disponibles sur le site d’INCIPALS : http://www.incipals.eu