fr En
  • Disability & Dependency

  • Disability & Dependency

  • Disability & Dependency

  • Disability & Dependency

  • Disability & Dependency

International affairs and multimedia production

The actors

> Research : the French elite university Ecole Normale Supérieure (ENS) Paris-Ulm and the Chair at EHESP on Mental dependency and decision on someone else’s behalf.
> Photographer & sociologist : Jean-Robert Dantou.

>

Expectations

Contributing to the debate and improving the visibility and understanding of this major social issue. The project pursues two objectives : to reveal the social inequalities that disabled and dependent people face, and to portray the related diverse social & medical careers.

Bureaucrats - israeli, palestinian and foreign officials in peacemaking Aday (in Africa)

The context

Public debate on dependency and disability focusses exclusively on financing. This political and media bias totally eclipses the question of the human cost facing dependent people, as well as their close family and friends.

Collateral Creations supervised a photographic project that portrayed the disabled person’s reconstituted entourage of professional carers and family.

The photographer Jean-Robert Dantou joined Florence Weber’s team in 2011. He puts into images the ethnographical and statistical results of her research into covering expenses related to dependent or disabled people’s needs, on both a family and professional level.

He met twenty such people, chosen in agreement with the team. He asked them to choose the people they would pose with, the group of people who help them in their daily lives. Twenty encounters bearing witness to some often difficult situations, overcome thanks to close friends and family as well as professionals. Twenty photographs that bear witness to the diversity of their situations, depending on the place of residency, home, establishment, sometimes a mixture ; according to their sex, class, age and the nature of their disability.

Behind this diversity lie the vagaries of demographics and family histories. To have, or not, a partner, children, parents, brothers and sisters… rallying round on a daily basis. But also the result of public policy for which territorial participation is complex : the establishments and home help available depends on national and local decisions, the result of numerous histories.

The project stems from a meeting between uncompromising research carried out as rigorously as possible, and a photographer wishing to explore the interface between science and society. It is part of a new wave of visual anthropology, paying particular attention to the image rights of the people being photographed

Images that could change society’s opinion on these private dramas and the political solutions on offer in France today.

Raising public and decision makers’ awareness of the contemporary hidden costs of paying for disability and dependence, by promoting the role of carers.

JPEG - 27.6 kb

Jean-Robert Dantou’s photographic work was exhibited at the Ecole Normale Supérieure in Paris.

See the flyer.

fr En
  • Handicap & Dépendance

  • Handicap & Dépendance

  • Handicap & Dépendance

  • Handicap & Dépendance

  • Handicap & Dépendance

Production de contenus visuels, artistiques et analytiques

Les acteurs

> Recherche : l’Ecole Normale Supérieure (ENS Ulm) et l’EHESP au travers de la Chair Handicap psychique et décision pour autrui
> Photographe et sociologue : Jean-Robert Dantou.

>

Les attentes

Contribuer au débat et donner de la visibilité à une problématique sociale majeure. Ce projet a deux ambitions : faire apparaître les inégalités sociales face au handicap et à la dépendance, rendre visibles les aidants dans toute leur diversité.

Aday (in Africa)

Le contexte

Le débat public sur la dépendance et le handicap se focalise sur exclusivement le financement. Ce biais politique et médiatique éclipse la question des coûts humains supportés par les personnes dépendantes, leurs proches et les professionnels.

Sensibiliser l’opinion publique et les décideurs sur les coûts cachés contemporains de la prise en charge du handicap et de la dépendance, en valorisant le rôle des aidants.

Collateral Creations a menée la recherche de fond et de partenaires, a participé à l’articulation des démarches scientifiques et artistique, et a accompagné la conception d’un contenu multimédia.

Jean-Robert Dantou, photographe, a commencé à travailler avec l’équipe de Florence Weber en 2011. Il met en scène les résultats de ses recherches ethnographiques et statistiques sur la prise en charge, familiale et professionnelle, de personnes handicapées ou dépendantes.

Il a rencontré vingt d’entre elles, choisies en accord avec l’équipe. Il leur a demandé de mettre en scène le collectif qui les accompagne dans leur vie quotidienne. Vingt rencontres qui témoignent de situations parfois difficiles, surmontées grâce à des proches et des professionnels. Vingt photographies qui témoignent de la diversité de ces situations, selon le lieu de résidence, domicile, établissement, parfois combinés ; selon le genre, la classe, l’âge, la nature du handicap.

Derrière cette diversité, des aléas démographiques et des parcours familiaux. Avoir ou non un conjoint, des enfants, des parents, des frères et sœurs… mobilisés au quotidien. Mais aussi le résultat de politiques publiques dont la déclinaison territoriale est complexe : l’offre d’établissements et de services à domicile dépend de décisions nationales et locales, produit d’une histoire multiple.

Le projet est né de la rencontre entre une recherche sans concessions, aussi rigoureuse que possible et un photographe souhaitant explorer l’interface entre sciences et société. Il s’inscrit dans la nouvelle anthropologie visuelle, en portant une attention soutenue aux droits des personnes photographiées sur leur image.

Des images qui pourraient changer le regard de la société sur ces drames privés et sur les solutions politiques qui leur sont apportées, en France, aujourd’hui.

JPEG - 27.6 ko

Le travail photographique de Jean-Robert Dantou a été exposé à l’École Normale Supérieure de Paris.

Consultez le carton d’invitation.