fr En
  • Photo competition – European Union and African Union

  • Photo competition – European Union and African Union

  • Photo competition – European Union and African Union

  • Photo competition – European Union and African Union

  • Photo competition – European Union and African Union

Production of visual contents merging creativity and expertise

The actors

> 200 applying photographers.
> 33 participating countries.
> 2 media partnerships : RFI & Jeune Afrique.
> 2 partner institutions : EU & AU.

>

Expectations

Communicating dialogue during the AU Summit of Heads of State which took place in Addis Ababa in 2011 to promote in an original and meaningful way the partnership approach between the Europe and the African continent, and between the EU and the AU as institutions. Advocate in favour of the diversity of Africa, away from the usual and enduring clichés.

Aday (in Africa) Afro food... for thought : Senegal

The context

The issues addressed together by the EU and the AU in their dialogue are often very technical and political in nature. These institutions experience naturally difficulties in communicating to a wider popular audience : it was thus decided to set up a cultural event that would generate public attention on the margin of Summit between both institutions.

To conceive and carry out, within the space of a few months, a cultural event to be held during the African Union shared value summit within the framework of the Africa-EU partnership in Addis Abeba in Ethiopia. To organise an original photography competition to reflect on the Africa that is far from stereotypes, and to promote a positive and nuanced vision of the continent.

Three months : the time given by the European Union and the African Union to Collateral Creations to conceive, organise and promote an ambitious photography competition aimed at professional photographers living on the African continent.

Methodology

A large targeted communication campaign, using a network of photographers and partnerships with local press organisations, ensured wide visibility for the event.

In total, more than 200 photographers from 33 African countries submitted work for the first edition of this competition.

An international jury made up of the Malian photographer Malik Sidibé and Christine Barthe, head of the Quai Branly museum photo archives in Paris, awarded an overall first prize, as well as five regional prizes (North Africa, West Africa, East Africa, Central Africa and Southern Africa).

The selected photographers participated in a 3-day workshop run by Collateral Creations in Addis Abeba. They had to produce individual photo essays on the theme of « the new Addis ». Their work was then exhibited at the Ethiopian-French Alliance in Addis Abeba in February 2011, and some features were published in the Jeune Afrique magazine.

slideshow workshop winners in addis from Collateral Creations on Vimeo.

The project enjoyed extensive media coverage thanks to a partnerships with Radio France Internationale, the leading radio station in French-speaking Africa, as well as Afrique in Visu and the Jeune Afrique magazine.

Filmed interviews - la Beauté en Afrique by Collateral Creations on Vimeo.

PDF - 1 Mb
Flyer

fr En
  • Concours Photo - Union Européenne & Union Africaine

  • Concours Photo - Union Européenne & Union Africaine

  • Concours Photo - Union Européenne & Union Africaine

  • Concours Photo - Union Européenne & Union Africaine

  • Concours Photo - Union Européenne & Union Africaine

Production de contenus visuels, artistiques et analytiques

Les acteurs

> 200 photographes candidats.
> 33 pays participants.
> 2 partenariats média : RFI & Jeune Afrique.
> 2 institutions partenaires : UE & UA.

>

Les attentes

Communiquer autour du sommet des Chefs d’Etat de l’Union Africaine qui s’est tenu à Addis Abeba en 2011, pour sensibiliser sur la démarche de rapprochement et de collaboration entre les deux institutions, de manière innovante et pertinente. Promouvoir une image de l’Afrique plurielle et loin des clichés.

Aday (in Africa) Afro food... for thought : Sénégal

Le contexte

De par leurs sujets souvent pointus, techniques et politiques, le dialogue entre l’UE et l’UA est naturellement confronté à des difficultés de diffusion auprès du grand public : il fallait donc créer un évènement qui attirerait l’attention d’un public élargi en marge du sommet des deux institutions.

Concevoir et réaliser en quelques mois un événement culturel en marge d’un sommet des Chefs d’Etat dans le cadre du partenariat UE-Afrique à Addis Abéba en Ethiopie. Organiser un concours photo original pour refléter une Afrique éloignée des stéréotypes, et promouvoir une vision positive et nuancée du continent.

Trois mois : c’est le temps laissé par l’Union Européenne et l’Union Africaine à Collateral Creations pour concevoir, organiser et promouvoir un concours photographique ambitieux destiné aux photographes professionnels résidant sur le continent africain.

Méthodologie

Des efforts de communication importants et ciblés, s’appuyant sur un réseau de photographes et des partenariat avec des organes de presse, ont assuré une grande visibilité à l’événement.

Au total, plus de 200 photographes en provenance de 33 pays africains ont proposé leurs travaux pour la première édition de ce concours.

Un jury international composé du photographe malien Malik Sidibé et de Christine Barthe, responsable des archives photo du Musée du Quai Branly à Paris, a décerné un premier prix ainsi que cinq prix régionaux (Afrique du Nord, Afrique de l’Ouest, Afrique de l’Est, Afrique Centrale et Afrique Australe).

Voir l’affiche de l’évènement.

Les workshops

Les photographes sélectionnés ont participé à un atelier de formation sur trois jours conduit par Collateral Creations à Addis Abéba. Ils ont du réaliser des reportages photo individuels sur le thème de « La nouvelle Addis ». Leurs travaux ont ensuite été exposés à l’Alliance française d’Addis Abeba en février 2011, et certains ont été publiés par le magazine Jeune Afrique.

slideshow workshop winners in addis from Collateral Creations on Vimeo.

Le projet a bénéficié d’une large couverture médiatique notamment grâce à un partenariat avec Radio France Internationale (RFI), leader radiophonique en Afrique francophone, Afrique in Visu, ainsi qu’avec la revue Jeune Afrique.

Entretiens filmés - la Beauté en Afrique par Collateral Creations on Vimeo.

PDF - 1 Mo
Flyer