fr En
  • Afro food... for thought : Senegal

  • Afro food... for thought : Senegal

  • Afro food... for thought : Senegal

  • Afro food... for thought : Senegal

  • Afro food... for thought : Senegal

Production of visual contents merging creativity and expertise

The actors

> Coordinator : Doctor of Economic Sciences, lecturer in Economic Sciences at Paris-Sud university, specialised in development policy.
> Field : Sociologist, research officer in the Bureau d’Analyses Macro-économique (BAME) in the Senegalese Institute for Agricultural Research (Institut Sénégalais de Recherches Agricoles).
> Photographer : Alban Biaussat.
> Journalist : Africa desk at l’Humanité and report for IRIN (UN).

>

Expectations

An in-depth study to understand African middle class dietary habits, as well as underlying portrayals and logic, with an aim to adjust the marketing and communication strategies of a large food company on the African continent.

Photo competition – European Union and African Union Afro food... for thought: Angola

The context

The project is based on work that Collateral Creations has already carried out on African middle classes, and concentrates on understanding dietary habits in Sub-Saharan Africa. A unique approach combining sociology, photography and journalism. The most complete study ever produced of this group of 220 million individuals.

The second field of our in-depth study of African middle class dietary habits highlighted the importance of the role and place of children within the nuclear family, as well as the static nature of this middle class marked by an upward social mobility that has been on-hold for the past few decades.

By highlighting these characteristics, the team of experts helped the photographer to choose a creative angle taking into account these aspect during the Tabaski holiday (Eïd).

PNG - 37.2 kb

What are the characteristics of the Senegalese middle class and how can their dietary habits be understood ?

Unlike other so-called emerging African countries, where economic vitality rhymes with social and cultural transformation, the Senegalese middle class are already old and rose with the country’s independence. But its evolution seems frozen since the crisis in the 1990s.

Socio-anthropological analysis

In Senegal, the established middle class represents 11,8% of the population. This established middle class is understood to be all households with a buying power of between 10 and 20 dollars per person per day. It is the upper layer of the middle class and is able to save as well as spend and consume superfluously. It is therefore, to a certain extent, sheltered from temporary fluctuations and the credit crunch.

This study has produced an overview of the current state of middle class dietary habits and identified its main trends. Particular attention was paid to the role of chidren in the evolution of middle class dietary habits.

The centre of attention in the middle class home, the child holds the dual role of agent (parental values and portrayals of dietary habits are passed down to the child) and actor (the child is also a vector in the evolution of dietary habits by influencing parental decisions).

To this end, we worked to understand :

  • The characteristics that constitute this emerging established middle class ;
  • The mechanics of transmitting behaviour and values from adult to child, as well as influential sources (parents, the media, peers etc.) ;
  • The supposed proportion of influence a child has on the choice of product bought by their parents ;
  • Dietary habits and products consumed by children during each meal both inside and outside the home.

Methodology

Contacts targeted and methodology for collecting data :

  • The recrutement of 30 adults according to pre-set criteria ;
  • 16 semi-structured interviews, including two double interviews, in people’s homes ;
  • Three educational events with 11 children :
  • A 3-hour focus group with 5 participants ;
  • A week of participating observation during children’s play and lunchtime ;
  • Interviews with shopkeepers and accounts from teachers.

Observation and interviews in the main buying centres :

  • CASTOR market ;
  • SANDAGA market;
  • KERMEL market;
  • SAHR CASINO;
  • SEAPLAZA CASINO ;
  • DAKAR CITY CASINO ;
  • KING CASH or LEADER PRICE.

The contents of the reprort can be read on line here.

The photography project

« This photographic project endeavoured to follow, during Tabaski, six families who were chosen as being representative of the established middle classes, settled in various districts of Dakar.

Some of the families are old and have benefitted from an intellectual social progression. Others owe their more recent success to business endeavours. A feeling of anachronism lingers on however, and it is hard not to compare them to my idea of France’s middle classes during the post-Second World War period.

In order to visually portray this feeling of inertia, I wanted to imitate the photographic style of those years, showing images that are sometimes washed out and sometimes saturated.

As if the modernity of Senegal’s middle classes already had its own archives… »

Journalist accounts

Alongside the analytical and visual creation work, a journalist wrote four articles about the key – and most representative – moments of middle class daily life relating to dietary habits. This was highlighted by the work of the expert and the visual artist.

They are published and available here :

Executive woman
Le grand business des buvettes scolaires
Très chers loisirs

PNG - 37.2 kb
  • A multimedia piece shot at our client’s distributor in Senegal, Saprolait, shows a series of interviews with some of its staff, focusing on their individual experiences and relationship to their job. Produced for internal use, this video work contributes to reinforce the linkages with our client and to show its collaborators the people in Senegal with whom they often interact from abroad.

Collateral Creations - Senegal - POM from Collateral Creations on Vimeo.

  • "Deweneti & bon apétit" is a body of photography work by Alban Biaussat. He followed several Senegalese families during the Tabaski which takes place one month after the fasting period of Ramadan. During this holiday, particular attention is given to children. The photographer chose a visual approach that makes use of an artificial filter to make the images look older, as an echoe to the fact that, for many long-establised Senegalese middle classes families, their situation has at best often stagnated since the 1990s :
PNG - 12.1 kb
  • A limited book edition has been published. "Deweneti & bon appétit" contains a selection of authored photographs as well as journalist accounts and a reflection on the artistic approach undertaken by the photographer. An extract of the book can beread here.
  • An exhibition was held in our client’s offices. It combined art works, elements of the sociological analysis and corporate photographs of our client’s distributors used for in-house promotion of the work of the Africa Team. Watch the video of the making of :

Vernissage exposition "Afro Food...for thought" 25/10/2012 from Collateral Creations on Vimeo.

  • A TV report on France O, dedicated to our exhibition has been broadcasted :

Reportage France O - Exposition BEL from Collateral Creations on Vimeo.

fr En
  • Afro food... for thought : Sénégal

  • Afro food... for thought : Sénégal

  • Afro food... for thought : Sénégal

  • Afro food... for thought : Sénégal

  • Afro food... for thought : Sénégal

Production de contenus visuels, artistiques et analytiques

Les acteurs

> Encadrant : Docteur d’Etat en Sciences économiques, Maître de Conférences en Sciences économiques à l’université Paris-Sud, spécialiste des politiques de développement.
> Terrain : Sociologue, ingénieur d’études au Bureau d’Analyses Macro-économique (BAME) de l’Institut Sénégalais de Recherches Agricoles.
> Photographe : Alban Biaussat.
> Journaliste : spécialiste de l’Afrique à l’Humanité et reporter pour IRIN (ONU).

>

Les attentes

Une enquête approfondie pour comprendre les habitudes alimentaires des classes moyennes africaines, ainsi que les représentations et les logiques qui les sous-tendent, en vue d’ajuster les stratégies marketing et communicationnelles d’un grand groupe de l’agro-alimentaire sur le continent africain.

Concours Photo - Union Européenne & Union Africaine Afro food... for thought : Angola

Le contexte

Ce projet se fonde sur le travail déjà effectué par Collateral Creations sur les classes moyennes africaines et se concentre sur la compréhension de leurs pratiques alimentaires en Afrique subsaharienne. Une approche unique mêlant sociologie, photographie et journalisme. Le travail le plus abouti qui soit sur cette population de 220 millions d’individus.

Le second terrain de notre travail sur les pratiques alimentaires des classes moyennes africaines a permis de mettre en évidence l’importance du rôle et de la place de l’enfant au sein de la famille nucléaire, ainsi que la sédimentation de cette classe moyenne marquée par une ascension sociale à l’arrêt depuis plusieurs dizaines d’années.

La mise en évidence de ces caractéristiques par l’équipe d’experts a permis au photographe de développer un travail d’auteur qui rend compte de ces aspects lors de la fête de la Tabaski (Eïd).

PNG - 37.2 ko

Quelles sont les spécificités des classes moyennes sénégalaises et comment appréhender leurs pratiques alimentaires ?

A la différence d’autres pays africains dits « émergents », où dynamisme économique rime avec transformations sociales et culturelles, les classes moyennes sénégalaises sont déjà anciennes et ont pris leur essor avec l’indépendance du pays. Mais leur évolution semble figée depuis la crise des années 1990.

L’analyse socio-anthropologique

Au Sénégal, la classe moyenne installée représenterait 11,8% de la population. Dans cette classe moyenne installée, nous comprenons l’ensemble des foyers ayant un pouvoir d’achat compris entre 10 et 20 dollars par personne et par jour. Elle correspond à la tranche supérieure de la classe moyenne et possède un pouvoir d’épargne, d’achat et de consommation du superflu. Elle est donc, dans une certaine mesure, à l’abri des fluctuations conjoncturelles et de la crise économique.

Cette étude a dressé un état des lieux des pratiques alimentaires des classes moyennes et en a dégagé les principales tendances. Une attention particulière a été portée au rôle de l’enfant dans l’évolution des pratiques alimentaires des classes moyennes.

Objet de toutes les attentions dans le foyer de la classe moyenne, l’enfant occupe un double rôle d’agent (c’est à lui que sont transmises les valeurs et représentations parentales liées aux pratiques alimentaires) et d’acteur (il est aussi un vecteur de l’évolution des habitudes alimentaires en influant sur les décisions parentales).

A cette fin, nous avons cherché à comprendre :

  • Les caractéristiques constitutives de cette classe moyenne installée émergente ;
  • Les mécaniques de transmission des comportements et des valeurs entre adultes et enfants ainsi que leurs sources d’influence (parents, médias, pairs...) ;
  • La proportion de l’influence supposée des enfants sur le choix des produits achetés par leurs parents ;
  • Les habitudes alimentaires et les produits consommés par les enfants lors de chaque repas au sein et hors du foyer.

Méthodologie

Interlocuteurs ciblés et méthodologie du recueil des données :

  • Le recrutement de 30 adultes selon les critères établis ;
  • 16 entretiens semi-directifs aux domiciles des personnes dont deux double- entretiens ;
  • Trois animations ludiques avec 11 enfants ;
  • Un focus group de trois heures avec cinq personnes ;
  • Une semaine d’observation participante lors des récréations et des déjeuners des enfants ;
  • Des interviews de commerçants et des témoignages d’enseignants.

Observations et entretiens dans les principaux lieux d’achats :

  • Le marché CASTOR ;
  • Le marché SANDAGA ;
  • Le marché du KERMEL ;
  • Le CASINO SAHR ;
  • Le CASINO SEAPLAZA ;
  • Le CASINO DAKAR CITY ;
  • Le KING CASH ou LEADER PRICE.

Vous pouvez consulter le sommaire du rapport en ligne.

Le projet photographique

« Ce projet photographique s’est attaché à suivre, durant la période de la Tabaski, six familles choisies comme représentatives des classes moyennes installées, établies dans différents quartiers de Dakar.

Certaines sont anciennes et ont bénéficié d’une progression sociale et intellectuelle. D’autres doivent leur succès plus récent à des activités de commerce. Une impression d’anachronisme demeure pourtant, et il m’était difficile de ne pas les comparer à l’idée
que je me fais des classes moyennes en France durant les Trente Glorieuses. Afin d’offrir un niveau de lecture visuelle correspondant à ce sentiment d’inertie, j’ai voulu imiter le rendu photographique de ces années, montrant des images parfois délavées ou inégalement saturées.

Comme si la modernité des classes moyennes sénégalaises se composait déjà d’archives... »

Les récits journalistiques

En parallèle du travail analytique et de la création visuelle, un journaliste a rédigé quatre articles, visant à décrire des moments-clés et représentatifs du quotidien des classes moyennes ayant trait à leurs pratiques alimentaires et mis en exergue par les travaux des experts et de l’artiste visuel.

Ils sont publiés et disponibles ici :

Executive woman
Le grand business des buvettes scolaires
Très chers loisirs

PNG - 37.2 ko
  • Un Petit Objet Multimédia (POM), réalisé chez le distributeur de notre client au Sénégal, Saprolait, donne à voir une série d’entretiens focalisés sur le parcours des collaborateurs et leur relation au métier. Diffusé en interne, il vise à renforcer les liens au sein du groupe et à mettre des "visages" sur des personnes avec qui les échanges sont souvent quotidiens.

Collateral Creations - Senegal - POM from Collateral Creations on Vimeo.

  • "Deweneti & bon appétit" est un travail photographique réalisé par Alban Biaussat. Il y suit plusieurs familles sénégalaises pendant la fête de la Tabaski qui prend place un mois après le jeûne du Ramadan. Lors de cette fête, une attention particulière est accordée aux enfants. Le traitement visuel des images, via un filtre qui les vieillit artificiellement, fait écho à la situation de la classe moyenne sénégalaise qui stagne depuis la crises des années 1990 :
PNG - 12.1 ko
  • Un livre en édition limitée a été publié. "Deweneti & bon appétit" mêle une sélection de photographies de l’auteur à des récits journalistiques et à une réflexion sur la démarche artistique entreprise par le photographe. Vous pouvez en consulter un extrait ici.
  • Une exposition a été organisée dans les locaux de notre client. Celle-ci mêle les travaux artistiques, les éléments d’analyse sociologique et des photographies corporate à destination des collaborateurs pour promouvoir en interne les travaux réalisés. Vous pouvez visionner les coulisses :

Vernissage exposition "Afro Food...for thought" 25/10/2012 from Collateral Creations on Vimeo.

  • Un reportage dédié à notre exposition a été diffusé sur France O :

Reportage France O - Exposition BEL from Collateral Creations on Vimeo.