fr En
  • Afro food... for thought : Nigeria

  • Afro food... for thought : Nigeria

  • Afro food... for thought : Nigeria

  • Afro food... for thought : Nigeria

  • Afro food... for thought : Nigeria

Production of visual contents merging creativity and expertise

The actors

> Scientific director : Professor of Political Science at Science Po Bordeaux, President of the scientific advisory board within the African section of the French Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs.
> Coordinator : PhD in Anthropology.
> Field : PhD in Policital Sciences.
> Visual artist : Benedicte Kurzen/NOOR.
> Journalist : Geneviève Martin-Williams.

>

Expectations

An in-depth study to understand African middle class dietary habits, as well as underlying portrayals and logic, with an aim to adjust the marketing and communication strategies of a large food company on the African continent.

Video: support to democratization in Sudan Video evaluation of the Civil Society Support Programme in Tunisia

The context

The project is based on work that Collateral Creations has already carried out on African middle classes, and concentrates on understanding dietary habits in Sub-Saharan Africa. A unique approach combining sociology, photography and journalism. The most complete study ever produced of this group of 220 million individuals.

The fourth field of an in-depth study of African middle class dietary habits.

In this study, we focused on the intergenerational dynamics of the recently installed middle class in Lagos through the analysis of their eating habits, perception of well-being and social affirmation.

The highlighting of the team of experts helped the photographer to produce a creative work which interrogate the connection between social life and dietary practices in Nigeria.

According to the African Development Bank, the middle class represents 22,0% of the population of the country (34.5 million people).

Our study focuses on the upper part of the floating middle class and the lower middle class, i.e. a total of 12.6% of the population (19 million people). This two groups share many similarities : they are both emergent groups that still have to struggle to avoid falling back into poverty ; they seem to have the same objectives and preoccupations concerning their children’s education and have quite similar eating habits.

Socio-anthropological analysis

The main objective of the study is to investigate, on the one hand, how rising middle class groups develop new dietary practices and perceptions about food products, and on the other hand, to analyze who has the authority to make purchasing decisions and what practices and perceptions are being passed from one generation to another.

To this end, we focused on six questions :

  • Does the frantic pace of Lagos life style affect the dietary practices of the middle class?
  • Is there a gap between self-identity perception and how they project it?
  • What are the strategies and coping mechanisms used and what are the signs of social mobility?
  • Have the educational strategies and learning processes changed between generations?
  • What are the main sources of influence?
  • Which visible changes affect the relationship between parents and children?

Methodology

We have done :

  • Twenty semi-structured interviews with the recently installed middle class
  • The ludic interaction with nineteen children
  • Two focus groups (one with five women from the recently installed middle class and another with five people from the floating middle class)
  • Participant observation was conducted in open-air markets, supermarkets, fast food restaurants, open-air night restaurants, local restaurants and places of worship (churches)
  • Visit of three schools and twenty-one places of purchase (markets, hypermarkets, supermarkets and small local groceries shops)

The photography project

« “Fast Food NAIJA” is a photography project which aims to underline the syncretism operating in the Bukkas, traditional fast food restaurants, and a more formal industry that is booming, represented by local and international brands. These locations provided me with an extremely rich visual playground. Along with a traditional documentary approach, there is a color patchwork made of portraits and landscapes, determined by the colour code of each brand. These are all elements of a theatre play, offering up an incredible slice of Nigerian life. »
Benedicte Kurzen

Journalist accounts

Alongside the analytical and visual creation work, a journalist wrote two articles about the key – and most representative – moments of middle class daily life relating to dietary habits. This was highlighted by the work of the expert and the visual artist.

They are published and available here :

Tunde Ogunrinde : Mr Fast Food

PDF - 44.4 kb

Suya, the basis of good grilled meat

PDF - 48.9 kb

Bénédicte Kurzen spent two weeks in Lagos wandering between fast food outlets and junk food street stalls, approaching clients and employees alike. She produced a documentary photo body of work of a creative kind, mixing portraiture and scenes of daily life, organized in as many chapters as she found dominant colors...

  • A limited book edition has been published. "Alimentary particles" contains a selection of authored photographs as well as journalist accounts and a text to introduce the artistic approach of the photographer. An extract of the book can be read here.
    PDF - 700.4 kb

fr En
  • Afro food... for thought : Nigéria

  • Afro food... for thought : Nigéria

  • Afro food... for thought : Nigéria

  • Afro food... for thought : Nigéria

  • Afro food... for thought : Nigéria

Production de contenus visuels, artistiques et analytiques

Les acteurs

À> Direction scientifique : Professeur de Science politique à l’Institut d’Etudes Politiques de Bordeaux, Président du conseil scientifique du pôle Afrique du Ministère des Affaires Etrangères et Européennes.
> Encadrant : Docteur en Anthropologie.
> Terrain : Doctorant en Science politique.
> Artiste visuel : Bénédicte Kurzen/NOOR.
> Journaliste : Geneviève Martin-Williams.

À>

Les attentes

Une enquête approfondie pour comprendre les habitudes alimentaires des classes moyennes africaines, ainsi que les représentations et les logiques qui les sous-tendent, en vue d’ajuster les stratégies marketing et communicationnelles d’un grand groupe de l’agro-alimentaire sur le continent africain.

Vidéo : soutien à la démocratisation au Soudan Vidéo évaluation du Programme d’Appui à la Société Civile en Tunisie

Le contexte

Ce projet se fonde sur le travail déjà effectué par Collateral Creations sur les classes moyennes africaines et se concentre sur la compréhension de leurs pratiques alimentaires en Afrique subsaharienne. Une approche unique mêlant sociologie, photographie et journalisme. Le travail le plus abouti qui soit sur cette population de 220 millions d’individus.

Le quatrième terrain de notre enquête approfondie sur les pratiques alimentaires des classes moyennes africaines.

Dans cette étude, nous nous sommes attachés à décrypter les habitudes alimentaires et les représentations liées à la consommation de la classe moyenne récemment installée de Lagos, en mettant un accent particulier sur les dynamiques intergénérationnelles.

Les recherches menées par les experts ont permis à la photographe d’effectuer un travail d’auteur sur la restauration rapide qui sonde le lien entre la vie sociale et les habitudes alimentaires des nigérians.

D’après la Banque Africaine de Développement, la classe moyenne nigériane représente au total 22,9% de la population du Nigéria (34,5 millions de personnes).

Notre étude se concentre sur la classe moyenne inferieure et la partie haute de la classe moyenne flottante, soit 12,6% de la population (19 millions de personnes). Ces dernières partagent de nombreuses propriétés : elles ont la particularité d’être des groupes émergents en quête de sécurité financière et sociale ; elles accordent une importance considérable à l’éducation de leurs enfants et disposent d’habitudes de consommation relativement proches.

L’analyse socio-anthropologique

L’objectif principal de cette étude est, dans premier temps, de comprendre de quelle façon la classe moyenne développe de nouvelles pratiques alimentaires et quelles sont ses perceptions relatives à la consommation. Dans un second temps, il s’est agit d’identifier les personnalités en charge des achats et les habitudes transmises de génération en génération.

Pour répondre à cet objectif, le travail de recherche s’est articulé autour de six questions :

  • L’environnement frénétique de Lagos a t-il un impact sur les pratiques alimentaires de la classe moyenne ?
  • Y a-t-il un fossé entre l’image que les personnes ont d’elles-mêmes et l’image qu’elles projettent d’avoir ?
  • Quels sont les mécanismes, les stratégies et les signes révélateurs de mobilité sociale ?
  • Les méthodes d’éducation et d’apprentissage évoluent-elles de génération en génération ?
  • Quelles sont les sources d’influences majeures ?
  • Quels sont les changements visibles qui affectent les relations parents-enfants ?

Méthodologie

Nous avons réalisé :

  • Vingt entretiens semi-directifs avec des membres de la classe moyenne récemment installée.
  • Une animation ludique avec dix-neuf enfants.
  • Deux focus group (l’un avec cinq femmes de la classe moyenne récemment installée, l’autre avec cinq personnes de la classe moyenne flottante).
  • Observation participante dans les marchés, supermarchés, fast food, restaurants de nuit en plein air, restaurants locaux et lieux de culte (églises).
  • Visite de trois écoles et de vingt-et-un lieux d’achats (marchés, superettes, supermarchés ou hypermarchés).

Le projet photographique

« Fast Food NAIJA » est un projet photographique qui tente de mettre en exergue le syncrétisme qui s’opère entre les bukkas, restauration rapide traditionnelle, et l’industrie formelle en plein boom. Ces endroits m’ont offert un terrain de jeu visuel extraordinairement riche. J’ai accompagné mon approche documentaire traditionnelle, d’un jeu de couleurs fait de portraits et de paysages, s’appuyant sur les codes couleurs de ces grands enseignes. C’est le décor d’une pièce de théâtre, qui offre une incroyable tranche de vie nigériane. »
Bénédicte Kurzen

Les récits journalistiques

En parallèle du travail analytique et de la création visuelle, une journaliste a rédigé deux articles, visant à décrire des moments-clés et représentatifs du quotidien des classes moyennes ayant trait à leurs pratiques alimentaires et mis en exergue par les travaux des experts et de l’artiste visuel.

Ils sont publiés et disponibles ici :

Tunde Ogunrinde : monsieur Fast-Food

PDF - 44.5 ko

Suya, la base d’une bonne viande grillée

PDF - 48.8 ko

Bénédicte Kurzen a passé deux semaines à arpenter les chaines de fast food et les stand de junk/street food à Lagos, allant à la recherche des clients et des employés. Elle a produit une série documentaire dans le fond et créative dans la forme, mélangeant portraits et scènes de vie en autant de chapitres qu’elle a perçu de couleurs dominantes...

  • Un livre en édition limitée a été publié. "Fast food NAIJA" propose une sélection de photographies de l’auteur mêlée à des récits journalistiques ainsi qu’une réflexion sur la démarche artistique entreprise par le photographe. Vous pouvez en consulter un extrait ici.
    PDF - 700.4 ko