fr En
  • Afro food... for thought: Angola

  • Afro food... for thought: Angola

  • Afro food... for thought: Angola

  • Afro food... for thought: Angola

  • Afro food... for thought: Angola

Production of visual contents merging creativity and expertise

The actors

> Scientific director : Professor of Political Science at Science Po Bordeaux, President of the scientific advisory board within the African section of the French Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs.
> Coordinator : PhD in Anthropology.
> Field : PhD in Policital Sciences.
> Visual artist : Olivier Culmann.
> Journalist : Freelance Angola Correspondent at AP and Forbes Africa.

>

Expectations

An in-depth study to understand African middle class dietary habits, as well as underlying portrayals and logic, with an aim to adjust the marketing and communication strategies of a large food company on the African continent.

Afro food... for thought : Senegal Afro food... for thought : South Africa

The context

The project is based on work that Collateral Creations has already carried out on African middle classes, and concentrates on understanding dietary habits in Sub-Saharan Africa. A unique approach combining sociology, photography and journalism. The most complete study ever produced of this group of 220 million individuals.

The third field of our in-depth study of African middle class dietary habits focuses on the influence of a post-war context on dietary habits of the established lower middle class in Luanda.

A unique approach combining sociology, journalism and authored photography.

PNG - 31 kb

The African Development Bank defines the middle class as being that which has a daily spending budget per capita of between 2 and 20 dollars.
This Angolan middle class is divided into 3 sub-categories : the floating middle class with a daily spending budget, per person per day, of between 2 and 4 dollars, the established lower middle class, with a daily spending budget of between 4 and 10 dollars, and the upper middle class with a daily spending budget of between 10 and 20 dollars.
How does the end of war lasting several years affect middle class dietary habits ?

Socio-anthropological analysis

We analysed the effects of the mobility of the social classes produced by the post-war context on middle class dietary habits in Luanda.
The accent was placed on the established lower middle class and its dietary habits. We carried out in-depth analysis of their way of life and dietary preferences, as well as portrayal and consumption habits.

This relation between the context and dietary habits was based on four questions :

  • To what extent does the parents’ experience of war influence the choice of dietary consumption in children born after the end of the war?
  • Inversely, to what extent do the opportunities arising with the arrival of peace, which favors a potential change of class, promote, diffuse or incite people towards a new consumption ethos, particularly in terms of diet?
  • How, and with what effect on dietary habits among children, is this new way of life appropriated by the middle class?
  • How do relations of influence establish themselves between adults and children in the area of dietary habits?

Methodology

We carried out :

  • Several dozen interviews with middle class families, 6 of which were double interviews ;
  • Telephone interviews with established lower middle class families, about their portrayal ;
  • Focus groups with people from a target group, following on from 13 questionnaires ;
  • Observation lunches in the homes of lower middle class families ;
  • Educational events for children from lower middle class families ;
  • Observation during « free time activities » and collecting accounts from the heads of community centres about dietary habits among middle class children.

The contents of the report can be read on line here.

The photography project

« Instead of concentrating on the people themselves to discover their differences, I decided to focus on the signs and distinctiveness of their diet : places where food is bought, the different esthetics and choice of display ; meals, shot from above in order to perceive varying social habits ; advertising images consumed in Angolan society to bring recurring symbols to light.

If Angolan way of life has admittedly evolved since the civil war, there is no guarantee that the middle class is the future of this country. As everywhere else, some people are undeniably becoming more and more wealthy. But the generalisation of a sated and contented consumer can be credited more to advertising imagery than a social reality visible on every street corner. »

Journalist accounts

Alongside the analytical and visual creation work, a journalist wrote four articles about the key – and most representative – moments of middle class daily life relating to dietary habits. This was highlighted by the work of the expert and the visual artist.

They are published and available here :

A historic couple
Fish & Ana
Food for thought

Olivier Culmann’s choice of an artistic angle for his photography work was to examine the specificities of individual food habits by looking at how dining tables are organised and demonstrating the symbols inherent to advertising :
_

  • A limited book edition has been published. "Alimentary particles" contains a selection of authored photographs as well as journalist accounts and a text to introduce the artistic approach of the photographer. An extract of the book can be read here.
  • An exhibition was held at our client’s HQ. It combined art photogtaphy work, elements of the sociological analysis undertaken by our research team, and corporate visual portraits of our client’s distributor, used for in-house promotional activities. Watch the video of the making of :

Vernissage exposition "Afro Food...for thought" 25/10/2012 from Collateral Creations on Vimeo.

  • A TV report on France O, dedicated to our exhibition has been broadcasted :

Reportage France O - Exposition BEL from Collateral Creations on Vimeo.

fr En
  • Afro food... for thought : Angola

  • Afro food... for thought : Angola

  • Afro food... for thought : Angola

  • Afro food... for thought : Angola

  • Afro food... for thought : Angola

Production de contenus visuels, artistiques et analytiques

Les acteurs

> Direction scientifique : Professeur de Science politique à l’Institut d’Etudes Politiques de Bordeaux, Président du conseil scientifique du pôle Afrique du Ministère des Affaires Etrangères et Européennes.
> Encadrant : Docteur en Anthropologie.
> Terrain : Doctorant en Science politique.
> Artiste visuel : Olivier Culmann.
> Journaliste : correspondante pigiste en Angola pour AP et Forbes Africa.

>

Les attentes

Une enquête approfondie pour comprendre les habitudes alimentaires des classes moyennes africaines, ainsi que les représentations et les logiques qui les sous-tendent, en vue d’ajuster les stratégies marketing et communicationnelles d’un grand groupe de l’agro-alimentaire sur le continent africain.

Afro food... for thought : Sénégal Afro food... for thought : Afrique du Sud

Le contexte

Ce projet se fonde sur le travail déjà effectué par Collateral Creations sur les classes moyennes africaines et se concentre sur la compréhension de leurs pratiques alimentaires en Afrique subsaharienne. Une approche unique mêlant sociologie, photographie et journalisme. Le travail le plus abouti qui soit sur cette population de 220 millions d’individus.

Le troisième terrain de notre enquête approfondie sur les pratiques alimentaires des classes moyennes africaines.

Focalisé sur les pratiques alimentaires de la classe moyenne inférieure installée, ce troisième terrain prend place à Luanda et s’attache à rendre compte de l’influence d’un contexte "post-conflit" sur les pratiques alimentaires.

PNG - 31 ko

La Banque Africaine de Développement définit la classe moyenne comme étant celle dont le pouvoir d’achat journalier per capita se situe entre 2 et 20 dollars.

Cette classe moyenne angolaise est stratifiée en trois sous-catégories : la classe moyenne flottante, avec un pouvoir d’achat par jour et par personne estimé entre 2 et 4 dollars, la classe moyenne inférieure installée, avec un pouvoir d’achat entre 4 et 10 dollars, et la classe moyenne supérieure, avec un pouvoir d’achat entre 10 et 20 dollars.

Comment la sortie d’un conflit de plusieurs années influence-t-elle les pratiques alimentaires de ces classes moyennes ?

L’analyse socio-anthropologique

Nous avons analysé les effets de la mobilité des classes sociales produite par la conjoncture post-conflit sur les pratiques alimentaires de la classe moyenne à Luanda.

L’accent étant mis sur la classe moyenne inférieure installée et sur les pratiques alimentaires des individus appartenant à cette classe, nous avons analysé en détail leurs modes de vie et leurs préférences alimentaires ainsi que leurs représentations et leurs habitudes de consommation.

Cette relation entre le contexte et les pratiques alimentaires s’est articulé autour de quatre questions :

  • Dans quelle mesure l’expérience de guerre des parents influence les choix de consommation alimentaire des enfants nés après le conflit ?
  • Inversement, dans quelle mesure les opportunités qui émergent avec l’arrivée de la paix, favorisant un éventuel reclassement social, promeuvent, diffusent ou incitent à un nouvel ethos de la consommation, notamment en termes alimentaires ?
  • Comment, et avec quels effets sur les pratiques alimentaires des enfants, ce nouveau savoir-vivre est approprié par la classe moyenne ?
  • Comment s’établissent les relations d’influence entre adultes et enfants dans le domaine des habitudes alimentaires ?

Méthodologie

Nous avons réalisé :

  • Plusieurs dizaines d’entretiens avec des familles appartenant à la classe moyenne, parmi lesquels six double-entretiens ;
  • Des entretiens téléphoniques avec des familles appartenant à la classe moyenne inférieure installée, portant sur leurs représentations ;
  • Des focus groups avec des personnes appartenant au public-cible suite à la réalisation de 13 questionnaires ;
  • Des déjeuners d’observation au domicile de familles de la classe moyenne inférieure ;
  • Des animations ludiques avec des enfants des familles de la classe moyenne inférieure ;
  • Des observations dans des "activités temps libre" et des recueils de témoignages de directrices de ces centres de loisirs, portant sur les habitudes alimentaires des enfants de la classe moyenne.

Vous pouvez consulter le sommaire du rapport en ligne.

Le projet photographique

« Au lieu de porter mon regard sur les individus eux-mêmes, j’ai pris le parti de me tourner vers les signes et particularités de leur alimentation : les lieux où l’on se procure les aliments, avec les différents choix et esthétiques d’agencement ; les repas, que j’observe vus du dessus afin de percevoir les différentes habitudes sociales ; les images publicitaires que consomme la société angolaise afin d’y relever les symboliques récurrentes.

Si les modes de vie ont certes évolué en Angola depuis la guerre civile, il ne semble pas garanti que la classe moyenne soit l’avenir du pays. Comme partout ailleurs, certains sont indéniablement de plus en plus riches. Mais la généralisation d’un consommateur repu et satisfait semble imputée davantage à l’imagerie publicitaire qu’à la réalité sociale visible au coin de la rue. »

Les récits journalistiques

En parallèle du travail analytique et de la création visuelle, un journaliste a rédigé quatre articles, visant à décrire des moments-clés et représentatifs du quotidien des classes moyennes ayant trait à leurs pratiques alimentaires et mis en exergue par les travaux des experts et de l’artiste visuel.

Ils sont publiés et disponibles ici :

A historic couple
Fish & Ana
Food for thought

Le parti pris artistique d’Olivier Culmann a été de s’intéresser aux individus par le biais des signes et particularités de leur alimentation, de l’agencement des tables de repas à la mise en évidence de la symbolique publicitaire :

  • Un livre en édition limitée a été publié. "Particules Alimentaires" propose une sélection de photographies de l’auteur mêlée à des récits journalistiques ainsi qu’une réflexion sur la démarche artistique entreprise par le photographe. Vous pouvez en consulter un extrait ici.
  • Une exposition a été organisée dans les locaux de notre client. Celle-ci mêle les travaux artistiques, les éléments d’analyse sociologique et des photographies corporate à destination des collaborateurs pour promouvoir en interne les travaux réalisés. Vous pouvez visionner les coulisses :

Vernissage exposition "Afro Food...for thought" 25/10/2012 from Collateral Creations on Vimeo.

  • Un reportage dédié à notre exposition a été diffusé sur France O :

Reportage France O - Exposition BEL from Collateral Creations on Vimeo.