fr En
  • Afro food... for thought : South Africa

  • Afro food... for thought : South Africa

  • Afro food... for thought : South Africa

  • Afro food... for thought : South Africa

  • Afro food... for thought : South Africa

Production of visual contents merging creativity and expertise

The actors

> Coordinator : Professor, Associate researcher at the Laboratoire d’Anthropologie urbaine/IIAC/EHESS-Paris and at the School of Development Studies, University of KwaZu lu-Natal/Durban.
> Field researcher : Phd in Anthropology.
> Photographer : Joan Bardeletti.
> Journalist : winner of the Albert Londres Award.

>

Expectations

An in-depth study to understand African middle class dietary habits, as well as underlying portrayals and logic, with an aim to adjust the marketing and communication strategies of a large food company on the African continent.

Afro food... for thought: Angola The Green(er) Side of the Line - Israel/Palestine

The context

The project is based on work that Collateral Creations has already carried out on African middle classes, and concentrates on understanding dietary habits in Sub-Saharan Africa. A unique approach combining sociology, photography and journalism. The most complete study ever produced of this group of 220 million individuals.

The first field of an in-depth study of African middle class dietary habits.

Exchanges between the photographer and experts (sociologists and anthropologists) revealed the central importance of the buying journey in understanding the portrayal and dietary habits of African middle classes.

PNGThe African Development Bank estimates that 19.8% of the South African population belongs to the middle class : how can we understand the dietary habits of this population that has been studied so little beforehand?

The double approach of analysis and photography has allowed a dynamic map of the buying journey to emerge (mobility in space), as well as paths of upward social mobility (mobility in time) within the households met.

The study concentrated on the towns of Johannesburg and Durban.

Socio-anthropological analysis

The analytical work aims to describe and analyse buying, consumer and cooking habits in the middle classes in Johannesburg and Durban.

It was agreed with the project’s sponsor to target households whose monthly income lies between 6,000 rands (614 euros) and 13,000 rands (1,330 euros). These households are ranked between 6 and 8 on the South African Marketing Standards LSM (Living Standards Measure) scale.

The aim was to greatly refine knowledge of dietary habits thanks to a certain proximity with the families and their urban way of life, in order to bring to light their portrayals.

Methodology

  • Organising a dozen face-to-face interviews lasting roughly an hour with people from the target-household group encountered in middle class residential areas, or while shopping in pre-defined supermarkets (Pick’n Pay, Checkers, Shoprite).
  • Running focus groups of 4 to 6 people.
  • Behavioural observation at lunchtime in supermarkets of all sizes, as well as eating places and primary schools.
  • Analytical work on documentary sources such as literature portraying the middle classes in South Africa, commercial material from the various shops and advertising aimed at the middle classes. Work was also carried out on the press and we analysed in particular certain issues of South African women’s magazines recommended by our local contacts.

The contents of this report can be read on line.

The photography project

« I chose to carry out a photographic road trip, following the footsteps of some members of the middle class black population from Jo’burg.

From the townships of their childhood that they often go back to at weekends (or that they want to forget at all costs), towards the large, new suburban estates built for them and accessible thanks to easy credit ; and for the lucky ones, on towards wealthy districts that are still mainly white, « Relationships here are transactional, more than anything », as one of them said to me.

My common thread, my GPS, my compass on this trip is, of course, their diet : the places they shop, consume, family food shopping, junk food wolfed down in cars before going back to work, or sausages eaten at the end of a long night dancing. »

Journalist accounts

Alongside the analytical and visual creation work, a journalist wrote four articles about the key – and most representative – moments of middle class daily life relating to dietary habits. This was highlighted by the work of the expert and the visual artist.

They are published and available here :

PNG

PNG - 7.4 kb
  • A limited edition book has been published. "I’m not a cheese boy" contains a selection of auteur photographs as well as journalist accounts and a reflection on the artistic approach undertaken by the photographer. An excerpt can be read here :
  • An exhibition was held in our client’s headquarter. It combines art work, elements of research and corporate photographs of our client’s local distributors to promote its work. Watch the video of the making of :

Vernissage exposition "Afro Food...for thought" 25/10/2012 from Collateral Creations on Vimeo.

  • A TV report on France O, dedicated to our exhibition has been broadcasted :

Reportage France O - Exposition BEL from Collateral Creations on Vimeo.

fr En
  • Afro food... for thought : Afrique du Sud

  • Afro food... for thought : Afrique du Sud

  • Afro food... for thought : Afrique du Sud

  • Afro food... for thought : Afrique du Sud

  • Afro food... for thought : Afrique du Sud

Production de contenus visuels, artistiques et analytiques

Les acteurs

> Encadrant : Professeur, Chercheur associé au Laboratoire d’Anthropologie urbaine/IIAC/EHESS-Paris et à la School of Development Studies, Université de KwaZu lu-Natal/Durban.
> Terrain : Doctorante en Anthropologie.
> Photographe : Joan Bardeletti.
> Journaliste : Lauréat du prix Albert Londres.

>

Les attentes

Une enquête approfondie pour comprendre les habitudes alimentaires des classes moyennes africaines, ainsi que les représentations et les logiques qui les sous-tendent, en vue d’ajuster les stratégies marketing et communicationnelles d’un grand groupe de l’agro-alimentaire sur le continent africain.

Afro food... for thought : Angola The Green(er) Side of the Line - Israël/Palestine

Le contexte

Ce projet se fonde sur le travail déjà effectué par Collateral Creations sur les classes moyennes africaines et se concentre sur la compréhension de leurs pratiques alimentaires en Afrique subsaharienne. Une approche unique mêlant sociologie, photographie et journalisme. Le travail le plus abouti qui soit sur cette population de 220 millions d’individus.

Le premier terrain d’une enquête approfondie sur les habitudes alimentaires des classes moyennes africaines.

L’échange entre le photographe et les experts (sociologues et anthropologues) a permis de faire émerger la dimension centrale de la notion de parcours pour comprendre les représentations et les pratiques alimentaires des classes moyennes sud-africaines.

PNGLa Banque Africaine de Développement évalue la proportion de la classe moyenne sud-africaine à 19,8% de la population : comment appréhender les pratiques alimentaires de cette population non étudiée jusqu’alors ?

La double approche analytique et photographique a permis de faire émerger une cartographie dynamique des parcours d’achat (mobilité dans l’espace) et des trajectoires de l’ascension sociale (mobilité dans le temps) des ménages rencontrés.

L’étude s’est focalisée sur les agglomérations de Johannesburg et de Durban.

L’analyse socio-anthropologique

Le travail analytique vise à décrire et analyser les habitudes d’achat, de consommation et de cuisine des classes moyennes de Durban et de Johannesburg.

Il est convenu avec le commanditaire de cibler les ménages dont le revenu mensuel est compris entre environ 6 000 rands (614 euros) et 13 000 rands (1 330 euros) classés LSM 6 à 8 selon les standards marketing sud-africains.

Il s’agit d’affiner au maximum les connaissances des pratiques alimentaires grâce à une certaine proximité avec les familles et leur mode de vie urbain, de sorte à mettre au jour leurs représentations.

Méthodologie

  • Organisation de dizaines d’entretiens en face-à-face d’environ une heure avec des personnes appartenant aux ménages-cibles rencontrés dans des quartiers résidentiels de type « classe moyenne » ou au moment des courses dans les supermarchés pré-identifiés (Pick’n Pay, Checkers, Shoprite).
  • Animation de focus groups de quatre à six personnes.
  • Observation comportementale dans de nombreux supermarchés de toutes tailles, de lieux de restauration et d’écoles primaires au moment du déjeuner.
  • Travail d’analyse de sources documentaires telles que la littérature sur les classes moyennes en Afrique du Sud, les supports commerciaux des différents magasins et les publicités qui ciblent les classes moyennes ainsi que la presse et notamment les magazines féminins sud-africains, mentionnés par nos informatrices, et dont nous avons analysé certains numéros.

Vous pouvez consulter le sommaire du rapport en ligne.

Le projet photographique

« J’ai choisi de réaliser un "road-trip" photographique, dans les pas de certains membres de cette classe moyenne noire de Jobourg.

Depuis les townships de leur enfance où ils reviennent bien souvent le week-end (ou qu’ils veulent à tout prix oublier), vers les nouveaux grands ensembles périphériques construits à leur attention et accessibles grâce au crédit facile ; pour les plus chanceux, vers ces quartiers de standing encore essentiellement blancs, "dans ces nouveaux quartiers, où les relations sont transactionnelles plus qu’autre chose" comme me disait l’un d’eux.

Mon fil conducteur, mon GPS, ma boussole dans ce parcours est bien sûr leur alimentation, leurs lieux d’achat, de consommation, les courses pour la famille, la junk-food engloutie dans la voiture avant de retourner au travail ou les saucisses mangées à l’aube après une nuit de danse. »

Les récits journalistiques

En parallèle du travail analytique et de la création visuelle, un journaliste a rédigé quatre articles visant à décrire des moments-clés et représentatifs du quotidien des classes moyennes ayant trait à leurs pratiques alimentaires et mis en exergue par les travaux des experts et de l’artiste visuel.

Ils sont publiés et disponibles ici :

PNG

PNG - 7.4 ko
  • Un livre en édition limitée a été publié. "I’m not a cheese boy" propose une sélection de photographies de l’auteur ainsi que des récits journalistiques et une réflexion sur la démarche artistique entreprise par le photographe. Vous pouvez en consulter un extrait ici.
  • Une exposition a été organisée dans les locaux de notre client. Celle-ci mêle les travaux artistiques, les éléments d’analyse sociologique et des photographies corporate à destination des collaborateurs pour promouvoir en interne les travaux réalisés. Vous pouvez visionner les coulisses :

Vernissage exposition "Afro Food...for thought" 25/10/2012 from Collateral Creations on Vimeo.

  • Un reportage dédié à notre exposition a été diffusé sur France O :

Reportage France O - Exposition BEL from Collateral Creations on Vimeo.